Google is changing how Drive and Photos share your videos and photos with each other, in a move that might actually cause more problems than it solves. From July 10th, when you upload files to Drive or Photos, they won’t automatically sync to the other service.
Likewise, when you delete a photo or video from Drive, it won’t be removed from Photos and vice versa.You’ll be able to import files from Drive into Photos using the Upload from Drive option. However, there doesn’t seem to be a similar way to move files in the opposite direction.
“Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos,” Google wrote in a blog post. Files you sync before July 10th won’t take up duplicate storage space. Google spelled out exactly what the changes entail on a support page.
The update follows feedback from users that the way in which the services share your photos and videos with each other is confusing. Google says the move will “simplify” the experience between Drive and Photos and it’s clearly designed to draw a distinction between the products.